Tennessee Sentencing Guidelines

Tennessee classifies crimes as either Felonies or Misdemeanors.  A Misdemeanor is a crime punishable by jail time less than 1 year.   Felony crimes are punishable by jail time over a year up to 60 years in prison.  Below is a breakdown of the Classes of Felonies and Misdemeanors.  For more information about jail time and probation, contact one of our attorneys at (615) 895-0030.


Felony Sentencing

Felony Class Mitigated Range I Range II Range III Career
Prior Record (0 Priors) (0-1 Priors) (2-4 Priors) (5+ Priors)
A (15-60 Years) 13.5 15-25 25-40 40-60 60
B (8-30 Years) 7.2 8-12 12-20 20-30 30
C (3-15 Years) 2.7 3-6 6-10 10-15 15
D (2-12 Years) 1.8 2-4 4-8 8-12 12
E (1-6 Years) 0.9 1-2 2-4 4-6 6

Felony Conviction Fines

If convicted of a Felony, a fine may also be assessed during the sentencing phase of the trial:

Class A Felony: Up to $50,000

Class B Felony: Up to $25,000

Class C Felony: Up to $10,000

Class D Felony: Up to $5,000

Class E Felony: Up to $3,000


Misdemeanor Sentencing

Misdemeanor Class Jail Time Fine
A 11 Months, 29 Days $2,500
B 6 Months $500
C 30 Days $50